Basil Sweet Potato Fries

French fries used to be my favorite junk snack, but since I’m trying to cut down on the junk, I switched to sweet potato fries since it’s lower on the glycemic index. I searched to find a healthy sweet potato fries recipe.

(from FoodNetwork.com)

After cutting the sweet potatoes into a wedge size, I mixed it in some olive oil, then baked it. Afterward, I sprinkled fresh basil pieces, salt and pepper.

Dipping sauce:
I also made the dipping sauce that the recipe suggested. It’s a mix of mayonnaise (I like using OrganicVille mayo, since it’s vegan, sugarless, and without any processed ingredients), lemon juice, and garlic.

Comments on Final Outcome:
YUM! Definitely will be making this often. I like soft fries so the wedge size worked perfectly. For the dipping sauce, my hubby thought he was dipping the fries in ranch! It added a nice complementary flavor and it’s also a good way to get more lemon into my diet!

My reason for keeping this ingredient around in my life:
-Sweet potatoes contain caretenoids, which act as antioxidants. They also have antiinflammatory properties.
-Basil is antiinflammatory.

Leave a Reply

